Reflections on the Week One of the 30 Day Core Challenge

I feel like that was a long title.

About a week ago, I stumbled upon an article about strengthening your core through a 30 day challenge. My core is not strong and I’ve been trying to find a reason to change that, so I decided to go for it. This blog shortly followed.

I had to amp up the intensity today, so I felt like it might be useful to work through how this first week has gone. I haven’t skipped days or exercises so far. There have been days where I’ve really wanted to. The hardest sets have been those sets I leave until the end or almost forget about. There were a few times where I had woken up after falling asleep on the couch to Portlandia and wanted to call it a night. That’s always when I remember about that last set of bicycle crunches that I’ve forgotten. Despite all of that, I’ve done it.

The planks continue to be the hardest ones for me. It’s for that reason that those are the ones I do immediately after waking up. I can clearly make myself do bicycle crunches when I’m half asleep. I could never pull off drowsy end of the day planks. Last week, I slowly worked on upping the number of seconds that I held the plank throughout the week so moving from 30 seconds to 45 seconds was not a total shock to my system. It wasn’t fun making that move up this morning, but it also wasn’t that bad. I’ve noticed that getting through the first ten seconds is the key for me.

I feel like my form has improved to a certain extent, most notably for the knee to elbows. They are starting to go from looking sad to almost kind of looking like an exercise.

Of course, I guess how I feel is the most important part of this endeavor. My core is sore a lot these days, but it’s a good sore. I feel like that part of my body has gotten stronger, even if it’s not visibly different.

So, I guess I would consider this first week of the Core Challenge a success. Here’s to three(ish) more!

 

One thought on “Reflections on the Week One of the 30 Day Core Challenge

Leave a Reply

