Santa Barbara Run (7/5/2014)

I don’t know why it took me so long to post about this, but I spent my Independence Day weekend in Santa Barbara. Since I was there, I decided to take advantage of the moment and run along the beach on Saturday morning.

It was an interesting run, as it was early enough that the only people out for most of the run were the other joggers and the people picking up the pieces from the July 4th celebrations the night before. It was quiet along the beach, something I haven’t really been used to in my trips to Santa Barbara.

I dragged my friend Andrew along. Actually, it’d be more accurate to say that he tagged along with my run. This is surprising as he tends to not wake up before noon on weekends. The goal was to do a 5.5 mile walk/jog starting from Santa Barbara Harbor, making my way along the beach to the Refuge, and then back.

Santa Barbara Harbor
Santa Barbara Harbor

 

As mentioned, the run started along Santa Barbara Harbor, right across the street from Santa Barbara City College. It was overcast for the first mile of the run. That was appreciated. It got incredibly sunny for the latter half of the run, which made things incredibly warm and generally unpleasant.

 

the Pier
the Pier

The run along the beach was fun. It was relatively quiet, peaceful, and not that crowded.I’m seriously not used to seeing the beach that empty. It was nice.

Palm Trees!
Palm Trees!

There was also just something so …”California”…about running along this trail. The sun was out after the first mile, there were palm trees. I could hear the waves crashing over Andrew’s whining.  I might as well have been running through an episode of Psych (even though the show wasn’t actually filmed in SB).

Andrew had not been running for a while. I actually commend him for taking on a 5.5 mile run as his first run in a while. He was struggling, though. He ran at my pace for the first three miles, but by the time we got to the Reserve, he decided to walk. Had to call him once or twice on the run back to make sure he was still okay.

SB Refuge.
SB Refuge.

I turned around once I hit the refuge, which was a little under 3 miles into the run. I haven’t been to this place since I was a kid. Looked just like I remember.

On the way, I ran by the zoo, through some parks, and back along the beach before making it back to the harbor. I got Andrew a beverage while I waited for him to walk back and ended up picking him up sometime along his walk.

This run was the first time that I was using the hydration pack that I had found in the house. It makes a big difference being able to run while hydrating yourself.

 

All in all, it was a good run. I ended up putting in a total of 5.67 miles in 1 hour and 29 minutes.

One thought on “Santa Barbara Run (7/5/2014)

  1. Best part: “The sun was out after the first mile, there were palm trees. I could hear the waves crashing over Andrew’s whining.”

    Beach runs are really about as CA as it gets. The sand, the ocean breeze, skimpily-clad people…which reminds me, it’s been a month since I’ve been to HB.

Leave a Reply

