Farewell 2014: A look back

It’s been a long time since I was blogging regularly, or at all. The second half of the year was surprisingly busy, so the habit of updating got a little lost this year. I do want to change that because I’ve always thought blogging was a good outlet.

I was going to make this a year in review and a year ahead post, but I realized I have a lot to say from last year. I’ll make it two.

In terms of exercise, 2014 has been a great year for me.

image
After the climb to Lulumahu Falls in Oahu

Running

For years, I’ve wanted to take up running, but never got far. I’d buy myself a pretty new set of running shoes, but that would motivate me for a few months before I got tired of it. I’m now weeks away from my first big half marathon. Maybe that was the spark that I needed. I’ve made myself sign up for a few more next year so I don’t hang up the towel on January 19.

In total, I’ve done nine official races and have shiny bling to show for four of them. The hardest race of the year was probably that first 10k. Got to break in the high mileage races somewhere, though.

image
From the Rock N Roll San Jose 5k in October

Hiking

image

I love hiking. I’m not great at it. I’ll treat 5ks as if they’re nothing, but hills make me huff and puff. There have not been many hikes this year, but there have been some very memorable hikes this year, from the impromptu hike in Skagway Alaska to our hikes around Oahu. It’s been fun, but I definitely want some other good hikes under my belt in 2014.

image

Other

I had been working on making other things like strength training and good stretching priorities last year. They weren’t great, but good starts with room for improvement in the new year.

Gadgets

It was really my FitBit that got me going with running in 2014. so I’ve been sad ever since losing it in November. I’m still trying to decide whether I should or need to replace it with something else. I’m still on the fence.

I do still love my Nike GPS watch. That was my best running purchase of the year, although it is followed very closely by the discovery of insoles.

So yeah, it’s been a great year. Here’s to 2015.

2 thoughts on “Farewell 2014: A look back

  1. Hawaii must be a very inspiring place to hike. I wouldn’t mind huffin’ and puffin’ for a waterfall plunge reward after!

    must add HI to the travel list. At least it’s in the US!

Leave a Reply

