I’ll Start Running Tomorrow

This has been my mantra the last few months. Running slowed down. Then, it slowed down to a halt. It started off from a series of injuries. I had almost been ready to get going again in May, but stubbed my toe. While I confirmed it wasn’t broken, it still took me a lot longer than expected for that to feel better.

Once it was better, it wasn’t a matter of injury but of willpower. I didn’t want to get up. I couldn’t get up. I got up and it was too hot. I lost my running shoes (still don’t know where they are). I just didn’t want to. The only real upside is that we’ve gotten into rock climbing, so we’ve been at the gym about 2-3 times a week over the last month. Will save that post for another time.

I made myself run yesterday. There was something that felt great about the pre-run ritual. It felt like seeing an old friend after a long time. The run, on the other hand, was good and bad. I was going to ease myself into the run and just do two. Once I hit that turn around point, I told myself I could do half a mile more. And then, that got bumped up to another half mile. I managed just under a 5k last night. Not bad for the first run in months.

The run was hard, though. I found out quickly why I had relegated my backup pair to backup status as my feet were killing very early on. The 3/1 run/walk intervals were also hard and I had to cut back to 2/2 about a mile in. It really is crazy how much fitness I lost in six months. I practically have to start from scratch now. A year ago, I was on the verge of my first 10k and yesterday, I barely put in the 3.1 miles.

I’ve got big races on my calendar and a wedding to lose weight for, so it really is back to the grind. I bought myself two new pairs of running shoes yesterday with the hopes that I’ll have a more reliable backup situation. Probably should just give away my Saucony’s. There aren’t many miles on them and I’m sure they’ll work better for someone else than they did for me.

All I can say is that I’m back and I’m ready to go.

Leave a Reply

