Firefly 5k (7/25)

Firefly

It’s been a while since I ran a race. I ran parts of the Veteran’s Run I did in May (?), but have been low key since then. Since my last post, I have done a few runs, but nothing too big. The new shoes I got definitely took some adjusting to and I finally got insoles for my primary pair. It’s crazy how much of a difference insoles make.

The race was the Firefly Run 5k. It has nothing to do with the show. Chris would have signed up if it did. Instead, he came to see me off and wait for me to finish. This one was a night race and we were given light up arm bands to wear. A night race in the summer really doesn’t do much, though. It didn’t get dark enough for the lights to make a difference until I was almost done with the race.

Otherwise, the run went well. I did my normal 3 min/1 min jog/walk stretches and clocked in just under 45 minutes. Not great, but also better than I expected. It wasn’t the most scenic location, but it was fun and I think I saw Manchester United’s bus during the run (they played Barcelona in Santa Clara earlier in the afternoon). I don’t know why I didn’t take a picture of that.

It was a hard 5k though and that makes me a little sad. It doesn’t seem like that long ago that 5ks were a breeze. Guess there’s a lot of chugging to do before I’m half marathon ready again.

3 thoughts on “Firefly 5k (7/25)

  1. He’s on for 10K this Nov right?

    Lots of slogging to be half-ready. I hope you get back into your routine; I’m excited to cheer you guys on in a few months. Will the clan troop down to watch?

    1. That’s really awesome. Lmk who’s all running–I’m going to make a modular sign. My aunts made cute signs for my uncles running the SF Marathon, so I want to get creative this year too 🙂

Leave a Reply

