And now what?

So I’ve declared my return and posted a picture of my Star Wars swag, but that’s not really the sign of a full return. I would like to do a longer post on the Star Wars Half, but I wanted to start with a game of catch up. It’s been almost a year and a half since my last post, and I haven’t been sitting around the whole time, so I figured this is a good way to start.

Since I was last posting, I ran three half marathons. I was on the verge of number two and then knocked out two this year. I stayed away from 13.1 during 2016, largely because I didn’t want to get injured before I could get my Kessel Run medal, but also because I spent the first half of the year getting married. I still kept busy with runs though. I did Bay to Breakers (eh), the Run the Bay Challenge (408k, Across the Bay 12k, and 510k), did the Rock and Roll San Jose Remix challenge (5k/10k), as well as a number of scattered runs here and there. I’ve taken the approach of quality, not quantity, because I had hit a point in 2015 where I could not keep races straight and actually ended up with a couple of double/triple (true story) bookings. Not kidding about the triple booking and I only went to one of those three races.

We spent almost a year hooked on indoor rock climbing. I think I may have written a few posts about it, but we got hooked. Chris was the only one who could say he got close to good at the sport, but we spent quite a bit of time at Planet Granite. We dropped it about a year ago when we collectively got a little too busy and the drive got too hard to keep up the membership. I miss it. We keep saying that we should go back and spend a few hours climbing, but it’d be back to basics and a lot of catch up. We did do a bit of outdoor rock climbing when we were in Thailand. It was fun in a lot of respects, but also kind of an epic fail.

I’ve also started seeing a personal trainer. As a matter of fact, I’m coming up on the one year mark of that too. I wanted to make sure I was doing strength training right. I need to get better at making myself train when I don’t have an appointment, but I feel like I’ve been getting stronger and have been making slow but steady progress.

I think that’s been the last year and a half in a nutshell.

 

Leave a Reply

