Quakes Dash for the Troops

So I’m back again. After making a big stink about returning and posting regularly, I was largely absent for almost a month. The thing is, I actually have been chugging along relatively okay on the run schedule. It hasn’t been ~great~ and it’s been a little painful, but I’ve been pretty steady.

But I can write about that more separately. Today, I’m writing about the Quakes Dash for the Troops 5k. I loved the Earthquakes Challenge races when they put them on, but there hasn’t been one since 2013. I definitely wasn’t running regularly back then. While we walked the 2013 race, I was so proud of myself during the 2012 race when I ran/walked the whole thing.Β A lot has changed since then, I guess.

QuakesRace2017PreRace

The race was generally fun. As I mentioned, I have been waiting SO LONG for them to bring a Quakes sponsored race back. It was an extra boost that the race benefited a good cause (and that the shirt was cute). The turnout was a lot smaller than I was expecting, but it was still relatively solid. It was advertised better than the MLS Care Run last year, but only slightly more so.

Pre-Race

There wasn’t much done pre-race. There were some stands and you could pick your bib and shirt up if you weren’t able to make it to the packet pick up the day before. I don’t think there needed to be much more than that, though, and it was just cool hanging out in a calm version of Avaya stadium. Parking also was pretty easy. A lot easier than the games, that’s for sure.

Most people there dressed in their race shirts, but my loving husband was decked out fully in his Quakes gear.

QuakesRace2017ChrisGear

The Course

The course was okay. I wasn’t looking forward to it because it just involved three loops around the parking lot and through the Epicenter. Truly not the most exciting course. I think the benefit of a course like that for a very community-centric run, though, was that you saw a little kids running off on their own since it was a relatively closed course. I guess that was pretty cool. It made the race fast though, because I didn’t have a reason to stop and take pictures. I mean, I think it would have been cool if they looped around inside the stadium a little more. They did that in the 49ers race and I thought it was a cool way to explore the stadium.

The Race

As I said, the race was pretty fast in general. It was my first since Orlando and I ran faster than I thought I would. It was hot, though. I never thought that I would say this, but I think the race would have been a little better if it had started even thirty minutes earlier than it had. Wouldn’t have been quite as hot.

I did a lot better than I expected; probably would have done a little better with some water in my system (more on that later). It was generally well organized and it was fun. Surprisingly, Q was absent, though. There were supposed to be Quakes players there too, but I must have missed them (boo).

My Garmin gave me an average pace of just under 13 minute/mile. It wasn’t a PR, but it was definitely among my top race times. Oddly, though, the official time I had was almost a minute/mile over that. Found that a little strange because I typically have slower Garmin times than official times and it’s odd to see it that far off.

quakesrace2017postrace.jpg

Negatives

There were two things that I really didn’t like about the race. The first was that there was no water station. I took a lot of issue with that, especially given the heat. With a race that involved three loops around the stadium, it really wouldn’t have been hard to put up at least one water station. I felt it around the halfway point too. I mean, I guess if someone wasn’t doing great, they could always figure something out when they got back into the Epicenter, but water stations are so standard that I thought it was disappointing that it was missing.

Also, at some point, the organizers let a car into the race course. Really? They were driving pretty slowly and carefully, but that’s dangerous and they really should have known better.

Overall Assessment

The race was fun overall. I wouldn’t rate it among the best races I’ve done as I did have some issues with it. Nevertheless, it was a fun community race and despite the flaws, I hope they bring back more Quakes races in the future.

QuakesRace2017BruceMedal

Leave a Reply

