Paddle Boarding

I’ve decided to take a break from writing about running and write about a new venture I tried out over the weekend. We spent the past weekend down in Santa Barbara to celebrate my grandfather’s weekend. It was a lot of fun and I actually also snuck in a 12k as a remote runner for the Across the Bay race that I missed.

SB Harbor SUP
I did not bring a waterproof camera, but took this picture of SB Harbor during my run, so it’ll have to do.

On a semi-organized whim, my sister, friend and I decided to try out paddle boarding. Part of the reason is that we’re heading out to Hawaii in just under two weeks and thought it’d be slightly cheaper to learn how to do it here in California where it is half the price as the classes we’ve been eyeing in Maui.

All in all, the experience wasn’t as bad as I expected. People who do it look so tranquil and poised. Given the amount of balance I have and my experience in other similar water sports (e.g., surfing), however, I did not expect anything short of a disaster.

What we got was somewhere in between. I fell almost as soon as I was able to stand up. In a way, it kind of broke the ice and made that experience less terrifying. I had a hard time getting back on the board and fell as soon as the water had the slight hint of a wave. It was still a lot of fun, though. We made our way through Santa Barbara Harbor, where I spent most of the time on my knees because it smelled awful, didn’t want to hit my head on rocks, and had an irrational fear that if I fell, I’d be attacked by a loose seal.

Once we got out of the harbor, we made our way back towards the pier and in that area. This is where we fell the most as a group because the water was less mild than the harbor water.

In the end, we weren’t anywhere near good, but we it also wasn’t a disaster. It was fun, but I was insanely sore the next morning and beyond. Today’s actually the first day that I’m not sore. I’m sure it didn’t help that I ran 7.5 miles the next day. Definitely looking forward to trying it again in warmer waters. My only regret is that I didn’t bring a water proof camera with me. It would have been fun to take pictures. Then again, that means I would have had to focus on something other than balance.

Leave a Reply

